Around the Schools

World Education Games 2015

During October, over 6 million students from 159 countries participated in the World Education Games. The Games provide the world’s largest online education competition in partnership with 3P Learning and UNICEF.

World Education Games Ambassador Ursula, a student a Dominic College, was active in promoting the event to her fellow students. Ursula also partnered with her local coffee shop to raise money for UNICEF’s School in a Box Campaign which provides kits of essential teaching tools to support childrens' education worldwide.

World Education Games Ambassador Ursula


Going for gold

St Virgil’s College recently became only one of two senior schools in Tasmania to achieve Gold Accreditation for their canteen through the School Canteen Accreditation Program. Having maintained a Silver Accreditation for many years, the College recently removed the last of their red classed items to ensure their canteen provides students with the best opportunities for healthy eating.


Terry Blizzard and Damian Messer with Rachel, parent volunteer, and Carole, Canteen Manager


ACEL Tasmania Awards

Congratulations to those in Catholic education who received acknowledgement at the recent Australian Council for Educational Leaders Tasmanian Awards 2015.  ACEL Tasmania honours educational leaders who have made a significant contribution to the improvement of student and organisational outcomes in education in Tasmania. Category recipients from Catholic education in Tasmania were:

Growing in Leadership [Early Career Award]
Lindsey Hills - St Patrick’s College
Jordana Schmidt – St James Catholic College
Simon Lane – Corpus Christi Catholic School
Excellence in Educational Leadership Award
Jacqui Lawless – St James Catholic College
Chris Hoare – Guilford Young College
Tasmanian Fellowship
Anne Foale – ACEL Tasmanian Branch President - St James Catholic College
Tasmanian Eminent Educational Leader for 2015
Craig Deayton – Sacred Heart College
ACEL Tasmania also acknowledged National Awards recipients: Fellow of the Association, Dr Trish Hindmarsh (past Director TCEO) and New Voice Scholarship recipient, Jaimi-Lee Armstrong from St James Catholic College.